top of page
Search

The Relation between Exercising and PCOS

Updated: May 21, 2020

I'll admit. I am not the best person when it comes to working out. In fact, the closest I've ever been to regular work out, was exercising for 45 minutes in a day, 3 days in a week, and I only did it for a week.Well, I do go for walks. Long walks that take over an hour. Somehow, I hope that it will be all I need. So I know, I know I am not the best person to be advising you on this topic. But here I am. Hoping that I will learn something too. But that is beside the point. My point is, exercising is not easy and having regular workouts is even harder. PCOS or not, this is something we should all train ourselves to be accustomed to.


What is the relation? - Insulin resistance is one of the symptoms of PCOS. Statistics suggest that 60-70% of women diagnosed with PCOS develop insulin resistance or the inability of cells to react to insulin. This can lead to increased insulin and glucose levels in the blood which further leads to weight gain.

Did you know? * Blood sugars can fluctuate significantly and this can provoke fatigue and sharp mood swings.

The hormonal imbalance accompanied by PCOS can sometimes cause depression.

Why is exercising important?

  1. Natural anti-depressants called endorphins are released during physical activity. This can help improve your mood.

  2. It regulates metabolism and helps you cope with depression.

  3. Working muscles absorb glucose from the blood decreasing its levels. The lower the level of glucose in the blood, the less insulin is produced.

  4. Regular and intensive body workouts enable the body to consume energy. When the body's energy reserves get consumed, it leads to weight loss. - In general, exercising normalizes weight, sugar, and cholesterol levels. This helps restore hormonal balance.

  5. Working out distracts you from current problems.


- It is advised that you train for at least 150 minutes per week. I trust that I will bring myself to follow my own advice.


- This is what you should be looking out for in the last blog on the PCOS topic; PCOS Hyperpigmentation.

* Information provided is based on my research and personal experience in dealing with PCOS. This blog is not in any way meant to diagnose or treat any health problems you may have. Consider visiting a doctor or your gynaecologist for a professional health checkup.*




62 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

COFFEE

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page